Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget?

To this day, I still have to remind myself of the importance that forgiveness can have for my own well being.

For me, seeing someone else being wronged is tough. The conscious act of being wronged personally is even tougher. The inner anger stews. A drive and desire to do something to make things “right” or more balanced remains. It’s very hard to let go.

The realization that these feelings are burdens that I alone carry was an awakening. My emotional and physical health get eroded by these burdens. So goes the mind, so goes the body. Not only are these feelings keeping me from more productive activities; they are actually hurting me.

But then the enlightenment came. Because I am the one who hold them, I am the one who can let them go. When I let them go, they will no longer be a burden for me, or possibly anyone else for that matter.

Then the real healing can begin.

It’s easier said than done for me. But it’s the doing that really counts after all.

Leave a Reply

